Review: The Murmurings by Carrie Ann West

The Murmurings coverThe Murmurings by Carly Anne West
Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon
Release Date: March 5th 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Series:  none
Rating: 

Goodreads description:Everyone thinks Sophie’s sister, Nell, went crazy. After all, she heard strange voices that drove her to commit suicide. But Sophie doesn’t believe that Nell would take her own life, and she’s convinced that Nell’s doctor knows more than he’s letting on.

As Sophie starts to piece together Nell’s last days, every lead ends in a web of lies. And the deeper Sophie digs, the more danger she’s in—because now she’s hearing the same haunting whispers. Sophie’s starting to think she’s going crazy too. Or worse, that maybe she’s not…

Sophie’s sister Nell was in Oakside Behavioral Institute for cutting herself with a broken mirror. She heard and saw things in the mirror. She escaped the hospital and ended up killing herself. Sophie is left questioning everything: why her sister left the hospital, why she killed herself, and why the hospital is being so difficult about it? Sophie knows about the murmurings Nell heard because she can hear them too. It’s something she can’t escape. Nell’s doctor is very interested in Sophie, in a creepy way.

Sophie has her sister’s notebook and learns that all was and is not well at Oakside. She starts investigating by asking other patients and looking for the orderly that her sister wrote about. She finds out that Evan, the cute boy who has started talking to her, has a cousin that also heard things. He’s been investigating online and might have a lead.

There’s so many questionable things going on in this book. Sophie is understandably upset and her mom has fallen into depression. However, Oakside and the doctor are so suspect. I don’t understand how they don’t demand more answers from the hospital and doctors involved. It should never be easy for patients to escape, and the doctor shouldn’t be preying on a dead patient’s sister.

The Murmurings is creepy, but only up to a certain point. I feel like the real creep-factor is in the mystery. Once the revelation happens it was not as engaging for me. I was a disappointed once I discovered what the twist was. The actual paranormal parts of the book weren’t very exciting to me. Although, I will say that the staff and especially the main doctor were creepy too, but not in the paranormal way.

I don’t have any strong feelings about Sophia. She was persistent and faced a lot of difficult situations, but there was nothing about the way she handled it that endeared her to me. Evan was nice and supportive, and he had a connection to the strangeness going on in Sophie’s life. Sophie did need someone on her side and she needed some help. I did kind of question their connection and if it was based on convenience, but I also enjoyed Evan. The book seemed to end a little easily for me for what it was about. Overall, it wasn’t a waste of time but I wouldn’t want to reread it and it wasn’t as creepy as I had hoped it would be!

Check out Carly Anne West’s website and twitter!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Murmurings by Carrie Ann West

  1. I have this one checked out from the library right now. I’ve been meaning to read it, but just haven’t yet. It’s too bad it wasn’t creepy. I was really hoping for something that would creep me out.

    • It was kind of creepy but not as creepy as I wanted it to be. Sometimes I feel like it’s my visualization of what I’m reading. Maybe you’ll like it more than I did!

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

