Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave coverThe 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon
Release Date: May 7th 2013
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Series: The Fifth Wave #1
Rating: 4.5 star rating

Goodreads description:After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up

Cassie is sixteen when the world changes. One day, seemingly out of nowhere, an alien ship shows up overhead. All attempts to communicate with the aliens are ignored. There’s an ominous waiting and then a sudden answer in the form of an EMP. This is the first wave. There are three more waves, diminishing the human population. Cassie feels like the only human alive.

Cassie knows there are aliens that seem like humans and that she cannot trust anyone. She has encountered them and witnessed the destruction first hand. She also knows that she has to get to her little brother, Sammy. She has an idea of where he might be and she’s certain he isn’t safe. When she’s injured on her way to find him, she wakes up in Evan Walker’s house. She knows she shouldn’t trust him but he is charming and attractive  and she is alone in an ugly new way of life. 

I like Cassie! I am impressed by how well she was written. A lot of times with male authors, I get frustrated because a female voice doesn’t feel realistic (and same with females writing male characters). Cassie feels real. She seems like a normal teen girl who gets thrown into a harsh world and has to adapt. She has lost a lot; most of the people she knew are dead. She’s struggling to maintain human standards in a world that is no longer human. Do the same rules still apply? Her emotions really brought me closer to the story and made me think about what I’d do in her situation. How do you go on living when you’ve lost so much?  I enjoy the other characters in the book, too. I liked that we got to see inside different aspects of an alien invasion and view the will to survive.

I did have a few issues with the aliens in general, which is normal with any sci-fi book/movie. These aliens seemed sort of similar to aliens I’ve read about before, but not in a copycat way. There are the usual reasoning issues that come up (for me) in alien situations and a lot of “well, why?” questions, but not enough to diminish my enjoyment. I liked the way the story was told, but there were a few times when I got tired and wanted to flip to another part of the story. It didn’t necessarily drag, but I was ready to move on. The romance does move a bit quickly but I think it’s kind of understandable. Cassie is guarded, but she wants to be able to trust someone. She needs to believe there is another person she can connect with. I can understand why she would fall for someone in that situation. 

None of the twists in The 5th Wave surprised me, but I wasn’t disappointed or bored. This book was fun to read. It was intense in all the right ways, and I was desperate to know what happened next. I started it last Friday night and kept thinking about it while I was out on Saturday, and I had to tell my mom all about it. Thankfully, she never minds listening to me gush about books. I want to shove this book into the hands of my friends and make them talk about it with me! I’m really excited to see what else happens in the apocalyptic world!

Check out Rick Yancey’s website and twitter!

One thought on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Pushing Lately | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

