Armchair BEA: Non-fiction

armchair banner

Thanks to Nina for the graphic! Armchair BEA is an online conference for people that can’t attend BEA in NYC. Find more info at armchairbea.com

Non-Fiction

I like non-fiction. I don’t read as much as I should. I love history, so I enjoy a lot of books historical non-fiction. When I was growing up, I really fell in love with reading about real stories from the Holocaust, because I think it is very important that their stories get told.. I read The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diana Ackerman a while ago and liked-not-loved it. I haven’t read as many Holocaust stories lately, and I need to read more. I’d also like to explore books about WWII in general. It’s shaking to read about horrible people can be, but it’s inspiring to read about survivors, and the people that help others.

I also want to read more about the Russian Revolution, French Revolutions, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome. I have The War Lovers: Roosevelt, Lodge, Hearst, and the Rush to Empire, 1898 by Evan Thomas and Giants: The Parallel Lives of Frederick Douglass and Abraham Lincoln by John Stauffer and need to read them. There are so many historical periods I want to read about! I’d also like to read a lot more about Asian history and non-fiction about Asia in general. There’s so much that’s happened in the world and I am very nosy curious.

I really enjoyed The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson, it was really interesting and his writing style is so enjoyable! I would like to read more non-fiction about things other than history, too.

This post isn’t that great but I’m excited to see what other people read about and add even more books to my TBR list! What non-fiction have you read and enjoyed? Or not enjoyed?

15 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Non-fiction

    • I always wonder why I don’t read more and I’m sure it’s because there’s always so much fiction I want to read. Hopefully I can start adding more nonfic in!

    • I think in grade school I wasn’t ever a huge fan of history classes because of how history is presented to you. It’s all facts and memorization but you don’t really get to know people and stories very well. I started learning more about different parts of history and watching The History Channel and grew to love it! It is definitely fascinating!

      Thanks for stopping by and nice to “meet” you, too!

    • I really enjoyed it! There was so much about about different research studies that were really fascinating. Plus, he’s really entertaining but in a relevant way. How is Confessions of a Sociopath?

  1. I love reading about the Russian and French revolutions! My mind has gone completely blank otherwise I’d have a list of reccs for you! I know, I’m totally useless lol. Giants sounds like it would be amazing!!

  2. Oh nonfiction, I love you so 🙂 You’ve listed a bunch of great books here! Jon Ronson has such a great style. I really enjoy his books.

    Isn’t history the best?? There’s a never-ending amount of things to learn!

    • I really need to read more of his books! I’ve seen him on The Daily Show (or Colbert? I don’t remember which, oops) and he seems really cool!

      History IS the best! I love that there are so many people to “get to know”, even if they’re not alive.

  3. Holocaust stories are so hard to read. I’ve read Night and Maus, both excellent. I’m not sure if I could move beyond memoir in that era, though.

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

