Bout of Books 8.0 Goals

Bout of Books

Time Devoted to Reading

I’m not sure how much time I’ll be able to devote to reading. Some things came up, so I’m going to read when I can and hope everything works out.

My Goals

Since I’m not completely sure about my week anymore, I have no idea. I was going to shoot for 4 books, but that seems high now. I think I’ll be happy with 2 and happier if I manage more. I definitely want to read Scarlet, though. If I am able, I’d like to do chats and other activities.

Updated Goals: I think I really want to try for 4 again. I have a lot of free time over the next few days!

Books to Read

books

The list isn’t in any order and please excuse my bare mattress (laundry day). I also have Jane Austen Goes to Hollywood by Abby McDonald and Manicpixiedreamgirl by Tom Leveen on deck in case I change my mind.

I’ve been wanting to read Scarlet for so long! I’ve also been curious about The Secret History of the Pink Carnation for a while. I kind of randomly picked the others because I’ve seen some good things about them.

Updates

Monday 8/19

Number of books I’ve read today: not even half of one
Number of pages I’ve read today:  77
Books: Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen
Books finished: 0

My Monday was crazy busy. I did comment on a few blogs, too.

Tuesday 8/20

Number of books I’ve read today: the rest of Scarlet, over half of The Secret History of the Pink Carnation
Number of pages I’ve read today: 518
Books: Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen – finished
The Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig
Books finished: 1

Wednesday 8/21

Number of books I’ve read today: I finished Pink Carnation and began Out of the Easy
Number of pages I’ve read today: 117
Books:  The Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig – finished
Out of the Easy – Ruta Sepetys
Books finished: 2
Notes: I also did some commenting, the TBR challenge, and participated in the Twitter chat, although I wasn’t super active – chats are intense!

Thursday 8/22

Number of books I’ve read today:  finished Out of the Easy, began The Thirteenth Tale
Number of pages I’ve read today: 408
Books: Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
Books finished: 3

Friday 8/23

Number of books I’ve read today:  I finished The Thirteenth Tale and started Aristotle &Dante and The Lightning Thief
Number of pages I’ve read today: 321 plus 20% of The Lightning Thief (I was tired and wanted to read in the dark and found this on Overdrive. There was one copy left so it was obviously meant to be!)
Books: 
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Books finished: 4 (total)

Saturday 8/24

Number of books I’ve read today:  80% of The Lightning Thief, some of Aristotle and Dante
Number of pages I’ve read today: I lost count, oops. Since I didn’t have a page goal it’s not a big deal, but 80% of TLF and maybe 30 of Aristotle and Dante
Books: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – finished

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Books finished: 5

Sunday 8/25

Number of books I’ve read today: 
Number of pages I’ve read today: 
Books: 
Books finished:
For some reason, WordPress doesn’t like the formatting of this post and I’m too lazy to fix the coding, so sorry if It’s completely wonky.
21 thoughts on “Bout of Books 8.0 Goals

    • Thanks! I think I might have a bit more time than I thought I would, thankfully. I’m not even sure what The Thirteenth Tale is about but I like going in blind sometimes!

  1. It looks like you’ve got a great variety of books for the read-a-thon 🙂 I didn’t especially like Scarlet, but I’ve heard good things about all the other books on your tbr pile. I hope you enjoy them and have an awesome time reading!

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and all you had to say about ASOIAF!! I am so excited to hear from another fan of the series! I am about halfway done with Dance and it’s slowly growing on me but it’s no Storm of Swords! 😉 It looks like you have a great group of books to read this week yourself! I have been wanting to pick up Scarlet so I’m excited to hear what you think about it and if I should move it up on my list of books to read! 🙂 Have fun during the read-a-thon!

  3. Good job on finishing Scarlet! I’ve heard many good things about that one. I hope you enjoyed it! Ooh, I hope you get to Aristotle and Dante sometime! I’ve seen tons of positive reviews and have that one on my wishlist. I’d love to see what you think 🙂 Good luck on the rest of the readhathon! Hope you have fun!

  4. I hope you get a chance to read Out of the Easy. It was soooo good. I loved it. I’m super curious to see about Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe too. I don’t think my library has it though. ): I can’t wait to see what you think about it!

  5. You’ve been reading lots of good books this week! I LOVED The Thirteenth Tale, and I am a big fan of the Pink Carnation series as well! I also quite enjoyed Scarlet, if I remember correctly, but my favorite Robin Hood retelling will always be Robin McKinley’s The Outlaws of Sherwood.

    • I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read this week, I’m pleased and surprised! I really enjoyed Scarlet, I actually didn’t know Robin McKinley wrote a Robin Hood retelling or I must have forgotten because I love her so much. I need to make a point to read all of her books!

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

