The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater [book review]

The Dream ThievesThe Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Goodreads | Book Depository| Amazon
Release Date: September 17th 2013
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Series: The Raven Cycle #2

Goodreads description: Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

The first Maggie Stiefvater book I read was The Scorpio Races, and I really loved it. When The Raven Boys came out, it sounded like something I would love, and I already loved her writing, so I picked it up and devoured it (and rambled about it here). I had been waiting patiently (ha!) for The Dream Thieves to come out. It did not disappoint me. Probably small spoilers for The Raven Boys.

The Dream Thieves is insane, but in only the best way. It is packed with emotion, so much emotion that it’s hard to get the book shut. It made me giddy to read it, I actually did silent screams of joy when I read something really great. It took me a bit longer to read than it normally would have because I didn’t want to let go. And when I was finished, I still wasn’t ready to let go. I just wanted to start over again. I read it when it came out, then I read it again last week, and it’s my favorite read of 2013 so far, and I think it will take a lot to top it.

“Why is the tea so good here?” “I spit in it.”

The characters feel like real people. The relationships between the characters seem true. The friendship between four prep school boys from different backgrounds work so well. The arguments and the feelings all seem real. Blue’s interactions with all of them feel real, too. Her feelings and confusion feel real and lovely and painful. Things like Adam’s past with his family, how Ronan interacts with his brothers and thinks about his parents, Gansey’s family in general, and Blue’s extended family, especially talking to her mom about life stuff, really make this book stand out in YA. These kids still do their own thing, but they also have families that (mostly) care about them. I also really love that it’s not in first person, and you get to sample different characters’ thoughts and feelings. I think it might be uncommon for YA readers (from what I see people mention on blogs), but I don’t particularly like first person. I am greedy and want to know everything.

“There might be girls in Henrietta who’ll let you talk them like that, but I’m not one of them.”

And the romance, ahhh the romance. The romance isn’t the central focus of the story. Blue and the boys have other things to worry about. It is always in the background, and when it’s brought to the front, it’s slow and confusing. There’s a bit of a triangle, but I think it’s done well. There’s jealousy, heartbreak, yearning, and it all feels genuine. I don’t want to say too much, but I really loved everything that happened it in the romance department and I’m excited to see what else happens with it in the series! Plus, there’s a small added element of maybe for something else, and it makes me even more excited. So. Much. Excitement.

She wore a dress Ronan thought looked like a lampshade. Whatever sort of lamp it belonged to, Gansey clearly wished he had one.

The story is intense. They’re still looking for a lost king. Things go wrong. Ronan’s reveal at the end of the first book comes into key play. They find out that they’re not the only ones looking, and the search seems more complicated. They face new problems and enemies. They search, they sort of fight, they have psychic readings. It’s a good ride.

“Guys,” Matthew pleaded. “Be holy.”

I had small problems, but I love the book enough that things that bother me in other books don’t matter as much. Some of the Gray Man stuff was a little weird. Some of the dream stuff and Kavinsky was almost too much, but I think it the rest of everything made up for it. There was one part where Blue talks about college and I don’t feel like it would be as impossible for her as she thinks it would be.

 5 stars

I love The Dream Thieves, and I’m really excited for the rest of the series. This review probably doesn’t do it justice, but at least my love is stated! I will probably reread this at least once, but probably more, just in the time before the next one comes out. Some books are almost better on the reread, because you know what is coming, and you understand things better while you’re reading it. I’m not sure about the new Sinner book, but other than Shiver related things, I am pretty sure I’ll read almost anything Maggie Stiefvater writes. I’m trying to make my sister read these, and I will gladly recommend them to anyone that wants to talk books. I can’t imagine anyone actually not liking this book (although I’m sure there are some that don’t), but if you like snark, great friendships, realistic families, dreams, mysteries, magic type stuff, tarot, you might enjoy The Dream Thieves!

Check out Maggie Stiefvater‘s websitetwitter, and tumblr!

2 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater [book review]

  1. Pingback: Farewell November! | a blighted one
  2. Pingback: my way late 2013/2014 post! | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

