Top Ten Books: Dear Santa!

Top Ten Tuesday graphic

Top Ten Tuesday is a lovely meme brought to us all by The Broke and The Bookish.

Books I’ve Borrowed and Need to Own:

1. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – I read this when it came out and loved it, but never bought a copy. In lieu of a pony, Santa, this will work.

2. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – Again, I read this a few years ago and for some reason never bought a copy. I need one to cry over and lend to others so that they too might cry. Sharing is caring, right? This is surely an unselfish wish!

3. Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy – I downloaded this from Gutenberg.org, and don’t have a physical copy. It’s where my blog name comes from and I don’t even own a copy of it. Santa should think about fixing that!

4. Harry Potter, all of them – I read HP for the first time in 2012 and I borrowed them from my sister. It would be magical of Santa to bring me a set. Also, a sweater with a K on it, Weasley style would be pretty cool.

2014 Books

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (May 13th 2014) – A lot of bloggers have been talking about this one, and I really like her Ruby Oliver series! I’m excited about this book and would love Santa if he wanted to put that one under the tree!

6. Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor – I am so ready for this book!

7. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge (January 28th 2014) – Beauty and the Beast retelling! I am very interested!

Santa can get books from the future, right?

8. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins – At last update there was a complete draft, maybe? Maybe Santa can at least gift helpful editing thoughts that direction, which would be a gift to me, too!

9. Raven Cycle #3 by Maggie Stiefvater – I know Maggie is working on this one, so I suppose Santa can send helpful writing thoughts that way. More kissing and almost kissing, more adventures, more angst to twist my heart. Who doesn’t want that?

10. The Winds of Winter by GRRM – SANTA, PLEASE! I need to know what is up at the Westerosi North Pole! The elves there are angry, frozen, and dead. Such appropriate, much merry.

What books are you asking Santa for this Christmas? Leave your link! Merry Christmas if you celebrate! Happy whichever holiday or winter break time if you don’t!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Books: Dear Santa!

  1. LOL – of course Santa can bring books from the future. He’s got flying reindeer after all – time travel seems simple after that 🙂

    I hope Santa brings you all of these, especially the Harry Potter books. How can you not have your own set?! That should be against the law! 🙂

    • Haha, I must not have been “nice” enough for future books this year! I did get some good books for Christmas but none of these! I definitely need an HP set soon! I was super late to the series but I fell in love and need them available at all times!

  2. Clicking through from A Bookish Heart. I love your list and hope you got some on here, maybe? I was lucky to get two books from my wishlist.
    I love your Harry Potter request. I have the first four books, in Afrikaans, and I would love to complete that collections and get an English hardcover collection too. (You know, one day when I’m rich, or manage to break into- I mean, get invited to Santa’s workshop.) And some HP accessories would be so cute wouldn’t it?

    Ah, Dreams of Gods and Monsters would be so good right? It will be a while before it reaches SA though.

    • I did get some books, but actually none on the list! I actually knew which books I was getting and didn’t put them on this list. I was happy with what I received, though! I’m glad you got two books from your list! It’s almost more frustrating for have some books and not all in a series sometimes! I hope you get to complete it and someday get the hc English collection! HP accessories would definitely be cute!!

      Sad that it will be a while longer for DoGaM, how much longer does it usually take for books to release there?

  3. The Scorpio Races ” In lieu of a pony”. Lol. And I have yet to start on the GOT series, but I really hope that GRRM hurries and finishes The Winds of Winter soon-ish because I love the tv series and am definitely planning on reading it someday, and he is not that young anymore, I worry he’ll die before he can finish it… #sigh.

    • I’ve almost given up on getting a pony, so books with horses in them need to make up for it! That is a valid worry with GRRM and there are at least TWO more books. He’s told the showrunners his plans so in case he does die they’ll know. HOPEFULLY he won’t! But in case he does, it would be nice if he left a summary! But I honestly hope he’ll live long and write loads of side stories, ha!

  4. Hi there, I am dropping by because your blog is my Christmas present from Asti. You have a great list here even if some of the books you mentioned are quite unfamiliar. But I definitely agree with On The Jellicoe Road and Harry Potter. The first is one of the best contemps I’ve read in my life. Two storylines that seamlessly converged halfway through the book and characters that are flawed that you can’t help rooting for them. I must admit that it has a very difficult beginning but the overall awesomness of the book certainly compensated for that.

    As for Harry Potter, I also want the boxed set of the new edition. I already have the complete set of the old one but getting the new covers is definitely a must.

    • Thanks for visiting! Jellicoe is very lovely! It’s been a while since I read it but I remember how beautiful and heart-wrenching it was. The new covers of HP are amazing! They would definitely be nice to receive!

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

