Book gifts!

Please excuse the bad pictures!

Books Given:

book sets If You Hold a Seed

I have 3 amazing nieces at 7, 5, and 3. The oldest and youngest are really into books right now! The middle one is not that impressed. I got them all as for everyone books, because I thought the older two would both like the Clementine and Ivy & Bean sets and the youngest would like the pictures from them and being read to. The If You Hold a Seed was a last minute grab because The Day the Crayons Quit was out on Amazon. It’s really short and simple, but it’s so sweet and cute! And Fortunately the Milk is one that Neil Gaiman tweets and retweets about a lot, and I read some of it before giving it to them, and I hope they can enjoy it as a family!

Received:

3 books The Gunslinger

My sister got me Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Blue Sword, and Scarlet from my Amazon wishlist! They are all books I have read and loved but didn’t have my own copies. I actually have The Hero and the Crown and not The Blue Sword, and I have been wanting to reread them both (though you can definitely read them alone) and I’m excited to have them both! I love DoBaS and definitely plan on rereading it sometime in the future! I reviewed Scarlet recently.

My brother bought me the first book, The Gunslinger, in The Dark Tower series. He only got me the first in case I don’t like it, but it is one of his favorite series, so he is hoping I will like it. I am pretty sure my sister has read this series and likes it, too. I have read King before, but mainly the big horror like Carrie and Tommyknockers, so I’m interested to see what this series has in store. I’ve heard that the first book isn’t that great and the second gets a lot better. It is also really short, so I might try to get through it tomorrow so I can tell him how I feel about it!

We also just had a nice discussion about books and TV/movies. We discussed ASOIAF/Game of Thrones, The Farseer Trilogy, The Hunger Games and movies, Neil Gaiman and a whole lot more! I’ve talked before about how bookish my family is and it is always fun to talk books with them! My brother likes fantasy video games and the GOT show, so I think he needs to try to read some fantasy! And I’m always trying to push books on my sister, she is a lot like me so I generally try to get her to read anything I like! I really want them both to read Vicious by V. E. Schwab, because I loved it and we all like powers-y type stuff.

Won

two books photo 2 (1)

I also won a giveaway from the awesome Danielle at The Book Barn! I won Knit the Season and she threw in You Better Not Cry as an extra, along with a scarf (that’s under the other stuff in the pic on the right, and here’s a post about scarves/knitted items she makes!), a candy cane, hot chocolate mix, and paper flags! Aren’t those paper flags pretty? I love them! Such a fun giveaway! Thanks, Danielle!

How was your holiday? Did you get or give any great books? Do you like book talking with family? Have you read The Dark Tower series? Have any comments on the other books?

16 thoughts on “Book gifts!

  1. Sounds like you got a great amount of books for Christmas! YAY! I’m so glad you won the giveaway and enjoyed your prizes, thanks for the shout out! 🙂 Those books for your nieces sound really great! I’m thinking of sticking to books as Christmas presents for my niece and nephews next year. Maybe for everyone else, too! 😉

    • You are not the first person to tell me that! That makes me feel a lot better, actually. I was interested but not in love after reading the first one. I’m excited to see what else happens! Thanks, Cayce!

  2. Great haul. Looks like you got and won so great books. I need to start collecting my favorite in hardback. Daughter of Smoke an Bone would def be one I’d grab as well. I need to read the second one soon.

  3. You are one lucky girl for getting heaps of books for the holidays. I only received one bookish gift for Christmas. 😦 Some of these books are new to me except for DOSB and Scarlet. Good to know that you enjoyed it. I think I was the only black sheep when it comes to the said book.

    And I would be reading Scarlet soon. Can’t wait to read how Gaughen will make a twist out of a Robinhood retelling. 😀

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Besides Books (but not really, there are books) | a blighted one
  5. Pingback: Rereading and De-stressing | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

