All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill [thoughts]

All Our Yesterdays coverAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon
Release Date: 
September 3rd 2013
Publisher: 
Disney Hyperion
Series: Al Our Yesterdays #1

Goodreads description: What would you change?

Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend, James, since they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it… at least, not as the girl she once was. Em and Marina are in a race against time that only one of them can win. All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.

I saw All Our Yesterdays getting a bit of buzz from bloggers, and I like time travel anything. For some reason, even with interest and positive reviews, I wasn’t really super excited about it. However, I was pleasantly surprised!

Em is the main character and she’s in a bad future where time travel is possible. Other versions of herself and a friend named Finn have gone back in time to try to correct/stop something big, but it never works out. She has managed to leave herself clues on what to try next. Along with Finn, she goes back in time to see if one thing she doesn’t want to do will save the future. I really enjoyed how the book was set up with alternating POVs from the same person in different times.

Sometimes I get weird about small details, but I felt like this story kept focus on what happened during the time travel and the story rather than time travel itself. There was some science and paradox talk, but I felt like it worked. There was nothing huge that bugged me, and I didn’t feel like it was too complicated. The situation of trying to change the world before it goes wrong and trying to decide what changes to make and if you can hurt someone you love  if you knew it would make the better place and prevent awful things from happening. It was thought provoking and very interesting.

I liked all of the characters, I was even intrigued by the “bad guy.” Em was determined and I enjoyed her so much. She went through some tough things, but she grew and I liked how the book handled her transition and how she dealt with her feelings for the past and her past self.  I also enjoyed Finn and would have liked even more of him! I think I would have liked a little more of their memories and time together, too. The romance was not the book’s focus, and I liked that, but I was curious about that some parts that were left out and would have liked to get to know them better. While I enjoyed them all, I didn’t really fall in love with any of them.

4 star rating

All Our Yesterdays hooked me early on, and I read most of it in one sitting. It was engrossing, and I kept thinking about it all day after I finished. I wanted more! This is a book I can see myself enjoying again. I would also love to read more of Cristin Terrill’s work and even though I have no idea what the rest of the series will involve, I’m excited about it! I recommend All Our Yesterdays, but especially if you like time travel.

Cristin Terrill‘s website and twitter!

10 thoughts on “All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill [thoughts]

  1. I’m not sure if I like time travel stories in general, but then again I suppose any time travel story I have read I’ve liked, so maybe I should give this one a try! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • Haha, that is a good thing to discover! I love time travel everything! I thought this one was a lot of fun, though! If you read it, I’ll be excited to see your thoughts!

  2. Oh, I thought about reading All Our Yesterdays (and I thought it was standalone…), but for some reason I keep putting off getting it… Maybe because all that hype made me cautious instead of excited. I just love time travel stories, but never really found a good YA one (although the first book in the Tempest series was pretty amazing) and I don’t want to be disappointed (again). But maybe I should give this one a chance… 🙂 Great review!

    • Maybe my reluctance and low expectations helped a lot, ha! I don’t know, but I enjoyed it! I am not actually sure I’ve read many YA time travel books, now that I think about it. If you end up giving it a shot, I hope you like it more than you expect to! Thanks, Cayce!

    • Yeah, this one didn’t really seem overly confusing. There might be a few small things, but I think for the most part you can gloss over them and stay on track. I really liked how the POVs were arranged!

      Thank you!

  3. Pingback: Hello March, Goodbye February | a blighted one
  4. Pingback: DNF: Twisted by Holly Hook and The Here and Now by Ann Brashares | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

