Rereading and De-stressing

I have been trying to keep up with reading for fun. I finished my short class, which was a huge opponent of recreational reading because it took up so much time. Sunday I turned in an essay over a book , and before the semester is over I have 3 more essays to write over 3 different books. Plus I have to read my textbooks. I’m also in a somewhat difficult position of living with my (kind and lovely) sister and her family, looking for an apartment, looking for a job, and getting things in order to transfer to a different university next semester. Reading time can be a little short.

I’ve been wanting to reread some books for a long time, but have been feeling like there’s too many books I haven’t read to fit in time to reread. I also got some books for Christmas that I’ve been wanting to reread. I’m going to be taking the time to de-stress a little by reading some books I have already read and enjoyed. No new details or concepts to organize! Familiar faces and feelings! Hearts in eyes! Maybe new discoveries and reactions!

 

Here are some books I plan on rereading even though there are so many new books to read and I also own books I haven’t read and recently received the whole Dark Tower series (which I think really needs to be a summer project actually)

 

The Hero and The Crown and The Blue Sword

The Hero and The Crown and The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley

I read these in middle school and definitely fell in love. I accidentally took The Hero and The Crown from my school (I only feel mildly bad about that, to be honest) and haven’t reread it in I’m not even sure how long. But I remember rereading both of these books a few times while I was in school and really loving the powerful female fighter aspect, along with magic and fantasy parts. I got The Blue Sword for Christmas from my lovely sister and I’ve been wanting to reread it ever since. Now’s the time to reread both! ^And I actually started The Hero and The Crown after typing a draft of this post this weekend, and I’m loving my reread. It was such a good decision! I’ve actually hugged the book at least twice, I love it so. I think this was my favorite of the two, but I’m still excited to get to The Blue Sword and see Harry again!

 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor 

My sister also got this for me for Christmas! I don’t remember if I reread it before Days of Blood and Starlight came out, but with Dreams of Gods and Monsters coming out SO SOON, I definitely need a refresher. I don’t own Days yet, but I can library it before! I’m excited to visit Karou, Akiva and the beautiful writing again!
The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things and Ella Enchanted

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler 

I really liked this book when I was a teen. I don’t remember a ton about it, but I think the MC has body image issues and overcomes them and becomes involved in school? And some bad stuff happens with her brother, maybe. I don’t know, but it made me happy back then and I saw it in my box (all my books are living in boxes at the moment 😦 ) and grabbed it. I’ll see how it measures up over time!

 Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

This is my second copy, I had one way before the movie came out and I think it got dropped in the bathtub or something of the sort, oops. I have loved and reread this book so many times. Ella and Char, princesses and fairies, a great twist on an old story, believe in yourself message. Love and definitely overdue for a reread!

 

What about you, friend? Do you reread to de-stress and cheer yourself up? Do you make time to reread favorites very often? Have you reread anything great lately? Tell me about it!

17 thoughts on “Rereading and De-stressing

  1. Your busy life reminds me of why I don’t think I even read for pleasure in college at all (except for Harry Potter haha)! I hope you get a lot checked off your to-do list so that you can enjoy some reading for fun! 🙂 I never read Ella Enchanted but I purposely never watched the movie because I hadn’t read the book. Maybe it’s time I read it! 🙂

    • I think sometimes I read more when I have more to do. It is kind of weird. But I made time for all of those rereads and read a lot more this month! Ella Enchanted is fun, it isn’t perfect but it’s sweet. The movie is a lot sillier, though!

    • I felt like that when I re-read The Blue Sword-I think I hadn’t read it as much as the others, but I guess I reread The Hero and the Crown so much back in the day that I remembered where certain parts were placed on pages. It was kind of sad, but also fun! But sometimes just knowing you enjoyed it and then rereading might be nice!

  2. I love re-reading! It helps me through slumps, and also is so nice just to revisit characters I know I love. Because you can’t remember every detail and it almost feels brand new again. I like this tactic. You once again reminded me I should pick up Ella Enchanted again. I tried it when I was young and it just didn’t do it for me. Maybe now that I’m old (?? eh) haha I will enjoy it? It’s on so many lists!

    Hope all is well with you!

    • I had a ton of fun rereading all of those books! It is really nice to revisit characters you already know and love. I also like know some things that will happen, so it isn’t as stressful as the first time you read it, and you have more background and can appreciate clues and other things. But I kind of felt like Days of Blood and Starlight was new, and I liked it so much more this time than I did the first time!

      Ella Enchanted is cute, but I felt slightly let down by it this time. There isn’t actually a lot to it? I don’t know! I still kind of like Char and Ella getting to know each other and her finding a way to help herself, but it has its issues too. It will always have a place in my heart, though!

      Thank you!!

  3. I’ve been trying to reread more over the past couple years, but I’ve ended up in kind of a rut where I only re-read one book: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Something about that books is just so comforting to me… I guess it’s not bad to keep rereading the same book again and again if it’s enjoyable, but the point of my goal was to reread a variety of books, not just one! Enjoy all your rereads 🙂

    • I have reread that book several times! I’ve actually been wanting to read it again lately but my sister currently has my copy! I can see why you keep going back to it! But variety is nice, too! I did enjoy my rereads, thank you!

  4. Love Daughter of Smoke and Bone! Have fun rereading 😀 As for everything else, try not to stress out too much 🙂 Sounds pretty hectic so I hope everything works out for you!

  5. I hardly read at all in college for fun, and it was so NOT a fun time, lol. If it wasn’t for reading, I don’t know how I would de-stress, especially in winter when I can’t get outside to go for a walk or swim. I haven’t reread anything lately, but I have reread books before, Harry Potter and Christopher Pike books. 🙂 Your post has made me think even more about how I need to cut back on review books – I can’t remember the last time I picked up a book without a review being required of me. :/ I might be getting a bit burnt out reviewing – my own fault of course. Have a great time reading!

    • I actually don’t think I read much for fun in college the first time I went, which obviously didn’t end well or else I wouldn’t be back in college now! But this time I’ve been fitting in a lot of reading for fun, probably a lot more than I should be,oops! I think it does help with the stress to lose myself in good stories! I can’t review everything I read, I’m too bad about about writing and making time for it! I can definitely see how you would be burned out on it! I hope you can find a less stressful balance! I did have a great time reading, thanks!

  6. I love to re-read. It’s great to just sink into something familiar. I’ve found it’s a great way to get out of a reading rut, where you’ve had a string of okay books with nothing great (or you’re just in a slump and don’t feel like reading at all). I think if I were super busy and didn’t have much time to read… as much as it sucks to feel like you’re falling behind on new books, a good chunk of my time would have to be re-reads. When I have limited time, I want to know I’m spending that time on something I’ll love.

    (Of course there’s always the chance that you’ll feel differently about the book this time around, but personally I find that less of a risk than picking up a random book that you may or may not like.)

    • I had a really great experience rereading with these! It was nice to read knowing it was something good and not trying to figure everything out, and seeing clues and hints I might have missed before. I actually ended up liking one of the books a lot better after reading it again, so that’s good! I do think the familiarity helped a lot, but I ended up making a lot of time for reading in general. Apparently I just read more when my list of stressful things to do grows. Oops? Ha. I agree, it’s good to know you’re spending time on something you’re pretty sure of rather than an unknown that might let you down brutally. Thanks for the comment, Charleen!

  7. Re-reading for me as a way for me to pull myself out of a slump. If the books I’m reading just aren’t doing it for me, or if I’m just not in the mood to read, I’ll grab an old favourite and it’ll immediately perk me up and get me back in the zone.

    Sometimes, I’ll just re-read certain passages from certain books, rather than the whole thing, and it gets me smiling. I think it’s a great thing to do every now and again, because you don’t over-think when you re-read. The world is familiar and comfortable and you can just settle right back into it 🙂

    • Rereading is definitely good for a pick-me-up! I can see where rereading certain passages from books would help, too! I would probably end up wanting to reread the whole thing anyway! It is great to not overthink and feel familiar, and notice things you didn’t notice before! Thanks, Allie!

  8. Pingback: April Recap | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

