Armchair BEA: Literary Fiction

armchair banner

thanks to Nina for the lovely banner!

Literary Fiction

I don’t read a whole lot of literary fiction, but not by design. Like I said yesterday, I read stories based on if they sound interesting to me. I don’t purposely ignore Literary Fiction, but sometimes there’s just so much to read that I end up overlooking it.

 

I do love Jonathan Safran Foer‘s Everything is Illuminated and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. I had mixed feelings but mainly enjoyed The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. I liked-not-loved Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. I couldn’t get into One Day by David Nicholls. I cared a lot about the characters in The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I know I’m forgetting some! I don’t think I’ve read any in 2013.

I definitely need to expand my literary fiction reading! I’m excited read posts from today and add more books to my TBR list! I have been having a lot of fun looking at posts and getting ideas on what to read! I’ve also met some cool people! I’m really enjoying Armchair BEA.

28 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Literary Fiction

    • I feel like I need to hear more about the story before I pick it up. Sometimes I hear books are popular but I don’t know much about the story so I’m not sure if I’d like it. But I saw a lot of books on posts today that sound really good!

  1. I, also, could not get into One Day. But I really LOVED the Light Between Oceans. The Help was great too. Nice to meet you!

  2. I really enjoyed The Help; books set in that time period are really fascinating but seem oddly rare. I keep hearing about Never Let Me Go; I might just break down and read it one of these days.

  3. Confession part 2: I read One Day only because I wanted to see the movie (I LOVE Anne Hathaway), and I like to read books before I see their movie counterparts. However, I was not very impressed. The story has a lot going for it, but the narration is so dry.

    • I think I actually wanted to read it because of Jim Sturgess! The narration is very dry. I can’t read about heartbreak and sad things but the writing has to be compelling!

  4. I absolutely loved The Help, and tried getting into Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, but found that hard to get into so I put it aside for later. And I really want to read Never Let Me Go after falling in love with the movie.

  5. I enjoyed Everything Is Illuminated a lot more than I thought I would. I never would’ve picked it up on my own, though. A friend had to recommend it to me.

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!