This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales [thoughts]

This Song Will Save Your Life coverThis Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon
Release Date: September 17th 2013
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Series: none

Goodreads description: Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together

I saw so much buzz about This Song Will Save Your Life from bloggers! It was on my Fall TBR list and it took me a while to get to it. Despite a few issues, I am really glad I read it!

Elise has never really “clicked” with anyone. She’s always been an outsider, but she has no idea why. She’s never had a close friend, and people can be downright cruel. The harder she tries to make connections, the more they seem to pass her by. After a particularly bad encounter, Elise is depressed and acts on her depression, which leads to a lot of changes in her life. Then, she finds a club on accident and happens upon people that genuinely like her and learns about DJ-ing, and things begin to change.

I did not exactly love Elise. I understood a lot about her and related to her on certain experiences. I did not always understand her reactions and feelings. I didn’t find her voice “refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny” as the description thrusts at readers. I grew to like her and better appreciate her actions as I continued reading. While I didn’t always understand or agree with things Elise did, I think it’s important to see how other people might cope with situations. People handle things differently, and it’s important to realize that.

I really liked that Elise found a hobby that could help her through a difficult time. I know music can help people in so many ways, and this book really did a good job of showing that. The right song at the right moment can do so much for your mood. I loved reading about Elise discovering how to read the mood and use the music. I loved seeing her learn about herself and others, I loved seeing her grow. I liked the family aspect of the book. I liked seeing Elise make mistakes and learn from them, too. I liked the romance and how it wasn’t the focus of the book, and it didn’t go how I expected it to go.

There were a few times when the book made me a little uncomfortable, but nothing too huge. I didn’t exactly fall in love with it, but I did like it and the end raised my opinion at least half a star.

rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

This Song Will Save Your Life is a special book. I had a few issues with it, but I’m glad I read it! The ending really made the book for me. I really want to read Past Perfect and I’ll be interested to see what else Sales writes! I think This Song Will Save Your Life might be for you if you enjoy teen angst, DJ-ing and music, and characters that learn and grow!

Leila Sales‘s website and twitter!

3 thoughts on “This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales [thoughts]

  1. I really loved this one, but I can understand what you mean about Elise not being as great as everyone makes her out to be as a narrator. For me, she seemed way too chipper for all she had gone through and her intentions of suicide. Maybe I should credit her for being so resilient, but instead I felt a little irritated at the beginning of the book. I did grow to love her after suspending my disbelief haha! I’m glad I just read this book so I was able to really appreciate your review!! 🙂

  2. Oh yes, I remember the hype too, so I’m glad it – for the most part – lived up to it 🙂 Hm. Honestly, Elise doesn’t sound like someone I could resonate with, but I still kinda want to check the book out for the music 🙂

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

