Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted at The Broke & The Bookish. For more info you can check out the page for it and future topics here.

(I just decided to do this, so apologies for two meme posts in a row. I meant to post a review yesterday but I didn’t get it finished.)

I’m not good at planning what to read. I always hop around with what I have. But there are some books I’ve been meaning to read for a while now and some new releases/finds that I’ve been itching to read!

bookstack

1. The Telling by Ursula K. Le Guin – I read Lathe of Heaven for a lit class and loved it. I found this in a used bookstore less than a year ago but haven’t gotten around to it.

2. The Last Bridge by Teri Coyne – Just a random book I picked up at Target and never read, oops.

3. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce – My mom actually got this for me at this neat place for teachers. I like retellings and I enjoyed Purity by Pearce so I’m interested!

4. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova – I picked up this and #5 at the same time at B&N three or four years ago and for some reason never read either. I’ve heard so many good things about this one, too!

5. The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Marie Buchanan – This one just caught my eye and it was half off!

For Darkness Shows the Stars coverWhen You Were Here coverDeathless coverMeant to Be coverTiger Lily cover

1. For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund – I’ve wanted to read this since it came out and I have no idea why I never did! I’ve heard so many good things and excitement about the second book. I’m not sure what it’s about because I like going in blind sometimes!

2. When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney – I saw Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner compare this guy POV to Adam from Where She Went on twitter. Plus I’ve heard it’s a tear-jerker and I like crying in books. Sold.

3. Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente – Someone I follow on tumblr that’s not a book blogger really loves this book and it seems really interesting. I’ve gotten more interested in reading about Russia in general and this is about Russian folk-lore/fairy tale and has a good romance from what I hear!

4. Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill – Class trip and mtb-ness? Sounds fun and the cover is pretty! I’ve seen a lot of positive things about this book!

5. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – I’ve always loved anything to do with Peter Pan! I’ve also heard this one is a sobfest.

Have you read any of these books? What’s on your summer TBR? Leave your links! 

39 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but there are a couple here I have my eye on. Sisters Red is one I’m always curious about (and c’mon, I love the cover for it). And though I don’t usually like contemporary or romance, Meant to Be is one I want to read as well. I’ve heard so many positive things, it’s another cute cover, and I’m going to London in the fall so any books that are set there always catch my eye!

    • Sisters Red has such a stunning cover! That’s exciting that you’re going to London, it would be fun to read books set there and know you’ll have the chance to see it!

  2. I really want to read Sisters Red and For Darkness Shows the Stars! And I agree with what people say about Tiger Lily – it was a really sad book, but not really a favorite. You should read it though 🙂 I’d love to see what you think!

    • I’m excited about them, I was interested in Pearce because she’s such good friends with Maggie Stiefvater! I’ve seen some mixed things about Tiger Lily so I’m kind of wondering how I’ll feel about it, but even if I end up not loving it, sometimes I just enjoy sad books, if that makes sense!

      p.s. I think I commented on your post but sometimes I can’t tell if I missed the moderated note or if I just messed up commenting!

  3. I wasn’t a big fan of The Historian but it’s one of my blogging partner’s favourite books so I think it may be a love or hate book, haha!

    When You Were Here and Tiger Lily are both on my TBR list for the future. They sound like great reads, I hope you enjoy them!

    Thanks for stopping by my TBR list earlier 🙂

    • Sometimes I think I like love or hate books more because I don’t like being conflicted!

      They do sound great! I hope you enjoy them whenever you get to them!

      Thanks for stopping by mine,too!

  4. Sisters Red was a really good re-telling! I want to read Tiger Lily at some point; the first chapter was really interesting. Meant to Be looks cute, too. Happy reading!

    • A lot of people seem to like Sisters Red, I’m so glad to hear that! I knew what Tiger Lily was about but I didn’t know it was told from Tinker Bell’s POV, so now I’m more interested in that! Thanks for stopping by, happy reading to you, too!

  5. I’ve heard so many good things about Tiger Lily, but I just keep getting distracted and forgetting about it! When You Were Here does look really emotional… it definitely sounds like you’ll be crying 😦 I may need to read that this summer too! I have read Meant to Be and it was cute… not my favorite, but a great light summer read!

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT today.

    • It’s really easy to make me cry in books so I don’t mind/enjoy reading books that are purposely sad (if they’re good)! Maybe I can save Meant to Be for a light read after a sad one!

      Thanks for stopping by mine, too!

    • I like sobfests, I like saving sad books for rainy days and curling up and crying. I like just reading them when it’s not rainy, too. I almost asked you about Tiger Lily because of your name. I knew what it was about but didn’t know it was from Tinker Bell’s POV, that makes me even more interested in it!

  6. I actually tried to read The Historian a few years ago when it was first released. But I didn’t get past many pages…I don’t know why…just wasn’t in the mood probably. But the story sounds soo interesting though, so I’ll try again some time.

  7. Pingback: Away! | a blighted one
  8. Pingback: Review: The Last Bridge by Teri Coyne | a blighted one
  9. Pingback: Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce [Book Review] | a blighted one
  10. Pingback: When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney [Book Review] | a blighted one
  11. Pingback: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova [book review] | a blighted one
  12. Pingback: Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson [book review] | a blighted one
  13. Pingback: Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill [book review] | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!