DNF: Twisted by Holly Hook and The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Twisted coverTwisted by Holly Hook | Goodreads | Amazon

I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I sort of just saw Tornadoes and being from Oklahoma, I was kind of interested. I should have read more carefully (I’m bad about blurbs, guys) because I did not realize that it was about WEREtornadoes. I do not mind were-things. Teen Wolf is one of my favorite shows. However, in my mind, to make sense, things need to be living for this concept to work? And a tornado is just air. This was really confusing to me. But the main character is a girl who is really into science and there are some creepy like hill country wind cult folks that are kind of interesting. This book wasn’t for me, but if it is something that sounds interesting to you, I think you should check it out!

The Here and Now coverThe Here and Now by Ann Brashares | Goodreads | Amazon

I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I might have mentioned before that I really love time travel stories. Time Travel is really important to me and it probably has a LOT to do with the Back to the Future movies, which I will always love. So this story about people from the future evacuating to a safer time seemed like something I would love! The people from the future aren’t supposed to get close to anyone in the past or stand out in anyway. Main character Prenna has problems with this and gets in trouble for it a lot. THEN this guy knows something and tells her she must stop something important that has a huge effect their future. It sounds so interesting. But…it isn’t that interesting? It’s slow and the way Prenna and even the way Ethan (a boy from the present that she is friends/more with) doesn’t talk normally. I couldn’t handle it. Some things were also really obvious and others were kind of weird time travel stuff that bugged me. I might skim the end to see what happens with the big event, I only got about half through this one. However, it might be right up your alley. I’d recommend also or rather watching Continuum and reading All Our Yesterdays (my review) because they are excellent.

 

Have you read either of these? Did you like/dislike them? Have anything similar to rec? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “DNF: Twisted by Holly Hook and The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

  1. I found The Here and Now very lacking in the details department, especially regarding how the travelers found their way to the past. I also wanted to know more about the future they came from, but I thought the book was rather sketchy about that, too. The last time travel book that I really enjoyed was Bee Ridgway’s The River of No Return, which is an adult novel that’s set mostly in 19th century England.

  2. I’m sorry you didn’t end up liking either of these, especially as they both have elements that you love! That’s upsetting, but I’m sure that you’ll find other books that have these elements and you end up loving!
    I’m personally drawn to the cover of The Here and Now, but I don’t think I’ll be adding it, judging by your review.

  3. Pingback: FAREWELL MAY [recap] | a blighted one

Comments are greatly appreciated and I try to reply to each one! I'm no longer accepting awards, but I appreciate the thought!

